Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Off hand Lathe use: the tobacco pipe

Default Off hand Lathe use: the tobacco pipe

Hey folks, I am the famous originator of the "emergency Go Button" comment.

Ahhh, no laughs. Ok. tough crowd.

Well I thought I would share what I do with my little mini... Yes it's an HF.

I'm a machinist/fabricator/welder by trade and I'm trying to escape, on a day to day basis. That is, I'm always looking to curb my squishy inner artist urges. I have worked a bunch of machines, the last being a Tos w100a in Austria. I have been making smoking pipes for a while as a side job. A very very Side job,

Here is the evidence...simple, yet effective ...........

Beautiful!

Very nice work.
    James Kilroy

That is not a pipe.

Very nice smoking devices!

Did you use the tool in the second picture to bore them?
    And what is the object to the left in the first picture?

Thomas

Problems worthy of attack prove their worth by hitting back
    - Piet Hein

nice work!

Default Awesome!

Whoa! Cool. My dad sent me this link, and I immediately thought, I know that pipe. That is his first blast. lol. I saw it on Pipemakers Forum. I really like the Shank/stem transition by the way.

I have been a member here forever, but I have just recently been thinking of joining Pipemakers forum to further my new hobby. If you don't mind I will post a couple pics of my newest (second) one.

Another thing, I liked the idea of your tamper so much, I thought I would copy the design if you would be okay with that. In fact I sent my dad a link to the picture a couple days ago because I really like the craftsmanship.

-John
    Does anyone actually read siglines?

Quote Originally Posted by Thomas Staubo

And what is the object to the left in the first picture?

Looks to me to be the mouthpiece for said pipe........
    RPease

I am going to bump this thread by posting pics... lol