Thread: Type of welding machine?

Default Type of welding machine?

Hi, newbie here. I've no real experience of welding but about 35 years ago I did spend a summer college break working at a factory making vehicle exhaust sytems - spent a long time brazing the bolts in the backplates of the rear exhaust box for the Hillman Imp........... so that doesn't really count as 'welding' experience.

I'm hoping to start making a few golf putters and will need to get myself a MIG or TIG kit. The sort of welding I'll be doing isn't major stuff, but something like those in the attached pics.

The first pic shows a putter head that has had the neck welded onto the head and has an ornamental weld-bead along the length of the flange.

The second pic is of a putter that has been made using three different components that have been welded together (flange, neck and face) so the welds showing are practical, not just decorative.

I'll be working with both 1017/1018 carbon steel and aluminium bronze (but not in the same putter), so I'm thinking TIG, but what size of unit should I be looking at?

(neither of the putters shown are my work)

Last edited by LindenH; 03-24-2009 at 03:12 PM.

Well you want TIG for sure and of course you will also have a fine stick welder to boot, in the same machine. Aluminum calls for a AC and DC machine, the other question is how heavy aluminum, because as it gets thicker the size of the machine and cost goes up. I'm partial to Miller products and I owned a SD-180 with the foot petal control at one time. Never used enough to justify, ended up now with a DC only lunch box size invertor (14lbs) from Miller. Does TIG and stick, but no AC. I love it, cause I can take it anywhere, 120 or 240 volt, autoswitch over, just plug it in and go.
    Retired - Journeyman Refrigeration Pipefitter - Master Electrician - Amateur Machinist

Quote Originally Posted by wmgeorge