Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Vertical milling machine

Question Vertical milling machine

Hello all, I'm contemplating on buying a JET JVM836. Does anyone out there own one and is happy with it or should I avoid it. I'm a hobbyist and will not use it for commercial production work. Would like to hear pros and cons or alternate recommendations. Thanks.
    Noel

noel

I'm going to buy a jet myself. but your
    numbers are different than mine. I am going
    to get 2hp 3phase. The only thing i know is
    there made in Tiwain,most "knee" vertical
    mills are pretty much the same. You can't do any havey machining on thoughs light machines. but you can do light work on a 2hp or 3hp. also 3phase is cheaper to operate.

doug

After reading your reply, I think I'll avoid the JVM836 Doug. My next coice is the JTM-1. I already have 3 phase power for my lathe. What are your thoughts on the JTM-1? Noel

Noel

I have looked at them in person. There is
    a Jet Outlet where I live. The real question
    is how long will the bearings hold out. For
    a home workshop I think you would want less
    gagets. Its expensive to get anything fixed.
    As to your question,I am going to buy a
    jtm-1. I would like a 3 hp but can't afford
    it. I would'nt worry,most machines are run
    16 to 20 hours aday. Your not going to do
    that.

Doug

I saw a JVM-836 a couple of weeks ago. It looks pretty good.

I have the JVM-840, which I bought about 16 years ago. It's no longer offered; the 830 or 836 seems to be the replacement.
    The only complaint I have, after 16 years, is that the table is pretty soft and dents easily. Otherwise, it's been a very good machine. I think you'd be happy with the 836.