Thread: Vice for Mill/drill

Default Vice for Mill/drill

Hey all;

I'm fairly new to machining, and looking to tool up my mill - a RF31 Mill/drill.

What would you recommend for a vice?

Specifically:

Is a 6" vice a good size for this machine?
    I don't really have money for a Kurt. What importer makes good vices? Phase II?
    Is there anything I should stay far, far away from?

Thanks!

When I started with my RF45 I bought a 5" kurt clone, it works pretty well. The only thing I didn't like about it was that it will lift on the moveable jaw, only 2-3 thou but still a pain as you have to tap your work down. I built a 3" tool makers screwless vise and it is way more accurate to work with and does not lift the work at all. I don't even use the Kurt clone now, but I'm sure I will again it's just I can clamp the larger stuff to the table. Just my opinion.
    Check out my work Here

Clinton

There are several "good" import clones, but generally not the names you'll recognize. Eeven those that used to be good were pilfered by MBAs "leveraging the brand" to improve quarterly numbers. I've got a Taiwanese Homge that is VERY good.
    Russ
    Master Floor Sweeper

Come and get one of my Harbor Feights. Seriously. I've hot rodded them all I can and still not happy. Got a Kurt on fleabay for a couple hundred. Haven't used it yet but looks like the difference between a D9 Cat and a Yugo.

A 6" vise will probably be overkill on your mill-drill - a 5" fits them pretty well.

Its probably a toss-up on "this-un bein better'n that-un"in the clones. It actually amazes me that they can sell that big a chunk of iron as cheaply as they do - and for that small amount the vises are really a pretty good buy. Yeah, they wont come up to a Kurt, but it'll get you by till later, -- maybe you can come up on a Kurt. (thats how I did it)

You may as well get the ENCO version and take advantage of the free frt, these things are heavy. The 5" is $92.95 and qualifies for the free frt.