Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: basic lathe operation, turn to shoulder

Default basic lathe operation, turn to shoulder

I have a lathemaster 9x30 lathe.
    I have next to no experience in lathe operation
    I was wondering what is the proper way to turn to or make a shoulder on a shaft. Here is what I generally do. Make a pass towards the spindle with the power feed and as it gets close to the shoulder I flip up the lever to dis engage it, then I make a couple of facing passes to get the shoulder square. This makes me a bit nervous that I will wait too long and it will bind and I wont be able to disengage it and that will cause all sorts of problems.
    So I was wondering what is the proper technique. There is lots of stuff out there about more advanced lathe operation but not so much about this very basic stuff that most people probably learned in shop class.
    So after reading a couple of other posts on here about basic stuff I thought I would ask.

Thanks
    Bernie

that's how I do it.
    A dial indicator mounted in the bed helps with stopping the carriage at the same spot each time. Feed until you are close to your stopping point, disengage feed and then feed by hand to the stop point. face to length once you hit diameter

That machine does NOT have powerfeed, it has a leadscrew which you should only use for cutting threads. (I know what the seller is writing, but believe me).
    Use the handwheels for working, that will also give you a better feel for what the machine is doing.
    Now, cutting to a shoulder: the most useful accessory I EVER made for my lathe is a carriage stop. It's basically just a block of metal that you can clemp to the ways. When the carriage runs into it, it stops. Period.

Make certain your compound rest is aligned along the ways (handwheel sticking out right side). Wind it back away from the headstock, it is OK if 10...15 mm of the dovetails are free..