Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Care and feeding of oily rags.

Default Care and feeding of oily rags.

Surely I'll be flammed for this question, but...

As I am new to machining, I am generating a lot of oily rags. What does one do with them? Are they washable in a washing machine, or are they fuel for my next trash fire?

I will note that I am becoming very fond of the smell of machine tool oil, so I suppose I will generate fewer and fewer...until I eventually just look like one large rag

Thanks

When there dirty keep em in a metal bin with a lid, fire safety. Wash em at the laundry mat, and reuse. Rags seem to work better with age and a few washings under their belts.

I use paper towels.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Origin now settable to bottom left! All values positive. Click Here

I usually wash them at the laundromat, a few times. I end up throwing most of them away when they collect a bit of swarf. Even after washing the metal chips seem to stick around....Nothing quite as painful as wiping your greasy paws on a rag that's full of swarf...ouch!

I used to swipe them from work...but now that I'm retired, I have to buy them at the local auto parts store...Fortunately, they're cheap.
    No good deed goes unpunished.

Maybe I should differentiate between oily rags and oily rags for those who may not know. In the home shop there's petroleum product "oily" and paint and oil finish "oily." The difference is fire hazard. Paint and oil finishes soaked into a flammible absorbant if wadded loosely and left alone will heat by itself from oxidation to the point of igniting. That's called "spontaneous combustion".

There's no spontaneous combustion hazard associated with rags and fibrous waste soaked with machine oil. The spontaneous combustion hazard is very real when drying oils - that is, vegetable oils used in paint, varnish, and other oil based finishes are involved.