Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Valve timing on model Steam/air engines

Default Valve timing on model Steam/air engines

Although I have been playing about with model steam/air engines for 2 years now, I still do not have a clearly defined understanding of valve design for a double acting air engine. If we leave "lag" and "lead" out of the equation, I want to know the following information. For a "given" stroke and piston length, how does one go about calculating A--The "throw" on the valve eccentric, B--the length of the "big ends" on the spool valve, the distance between the inlet and outlet ports, C--the distance between the "big ends" on the spool valve. I am sure that this information can all be reduced to a set of formulae that will cover any double acting air engine, but I haven't been able to find it, and I don't seem to be able to figure it out by myself. This all shows up in the attached .gif which was so kindly provided by Maryak. If anyone can help withthis, it would be an immense help to myself and to all other model engineers.---Brian

Brian, being such a highly experienced engine builder that I am now on my second engine! I have concluded that there is no fixed relationship between the dimensions of the valve cylinder and the main cylinder.

The length of throw on the eccentric depends on how long you make the valve cylinder and the length of the valve cylinder depends on how you can conveniently arrange the flow of air/steam from there to the main cylinder.

I think one would designe for bigger port openings and with that would go longer valve spool travel if you wanted good performance on low pressure/high volume air.

Just my thoughts.

The stroke of the valve is determined by the dimensions of the steam ports. It must be long enough to shift the valve from one admission port to the other.