Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: HF blast cabinet any good?

gregl Guest

Default HF blast cabinet any good?

Searched the archive but didn't find much specifically addressing this question. The one I'm looking at is currently on sale. They advertise it as the "40 lb. floor blast cabinet" for just over $200.

Any opinions? Thanks!

I have a cheap blast cabinet and it works great. Only complaint I have is the lack of a evac system. After only a few minutes it starts getting hard to see in the cabinet.

While I have no experience with the HF cabinet, I'm happy with the TP Tools and Equipment cabinet I have. It includes an evacuation system, an in-cabinet light and a wheel kit. Link is below

http://www.tptools.com/p/431,53_780-...t-Package.html

I have owned one of the HF 50# top loading bench units for about 10 years now. No Evac system, but there is a port on the side with a filter on the inside for pressure relief. So I machined a fitting for the port and just hook it up to my shop vac. Works well enough.

The cabinet leaked like a sieve at ever seam when I first got it, and since the store was 100 mile drive, I didn't bother to take it back. Just disassembled it and used some silicone sealer between all mating metal surfaces. Reassembled, and once the sealer was dry, its been fine ever since.

This was the $99 unit, but I caught it on sale with a coupon for only $49. It has handled all the bead blasting for handguns and other small stuff for 10 years, so I guess it was worth the money. Still using the same ceramic nozzle, its never worn out.

Oh, and I did modify the siphon feed tube at the bottom of the cabinet so that it would stay submerged in the media, and pick up the glass media a bit better.
    Steve
    NRA Life Member

I have a H.F. blast cabinet, like someone else said,it will leak unless resealed. My light inside stop working after a few days, not sure why. But for the cost it will fit most needs.