Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beginner question: Steel Types

Default Beginner question: Steel Types

I have a question about what TYPE of steel I should use.

I'm going to be making some additional toolholders for my QCTP on my mini-lathe.

I'm just starting out, and this is my first project with my mini-mill.
    I'm going to be buying some metal from MetalSuperMarkets, but I'm not sure what TYPE of metal I need. My options are:

Alloy Steel: A steel to which modest amounts one or more alloying elements other than carbon, such as Cr, Ni, or Mn have been added. Alloy steels are workhorses of industry because of their economical cost, wide availability, ease of processing, and good mechanical properties. Alloy steels are generally more responsive to heat and mechanical treatments than carbon steels.

Cold Rolled Steel: Cold rolling increases the strength and hardness and decreases ductility of steel by rolling it at ambient temperature (or below its recrystallization temperature). In addition to improvement of mechanical properties, the cold rolling produces steel plate/sheet of the desired physical dimensions. Steel may be annealed subsequent to the cold rolling process to restore the original mechanical attributes. Even with multiple passes through rollers, cold rolling is more limited in its ability to effect dimensional changes (versus hot rolling) because of the increased hardness and decreased ductility.

I realize that my equipment and tooling isn't top notch, but I have to start somewhere.

Appreciate any input.

Mike
    www.ottawawood.com

You could probably get with alum, the forces are so small. as far as steel is concerned Cold finished 1018 is about as cheap as you can get and just about every mill supplier has it.

cold roll 12L14 is the easyest steel to machine.

Quote Originally Posted by KillerMike My options are:

[INDENT
    Alloy Steel
    Cold Rolled Steel:]