Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: OT--So I'm setting here with my marketing hat on---

Default OT--So I'm setting here with my marketing hat on---

I design machinery for a living.---Been doing it for (Gasp) 45 years this July!!!
    The last 10 years I have ran my own little one man company, and its been fun.--Last year was the worst in living memory, but thanks to a working wife and the fact that all my kids have moved out, I survived it. Then at about a week before Christmas, work started coming in. I've been busier than a one armed paper hanger up untill last Friday, and then everything stopped with a thump. So, I'm setting here with the on-line version of Scotts Directory, searching out all the companies in Ontario who could possibly use my services, and sending out faxes to them promoting my company. Why faxes in this modern, internet world?---Because earlier this week I sent out over 100 emails to various companies, and over 70 of them bounced back, indicating that the companies were no longer in business!!! At least if a fax goes though, it gives some indication that the company recieving it is still there.

Im self employed too, you never know when its going to be busy or slow. There is no happy medium anymore!!!!

Last winter when it got slow I went out and introduced myself (face to face) and picked up more accounts. That seemed to work the best....
    Feel free to put me on ignore....

I work for a heavy industrial machinery builder. We have a good number of RFQ coming in the lasf few months, but so far none have turned into orders. We're "living" off spare parts orders right now.

DO you offer spare parts for the equipment you've built in the past? It can be a good source of revenue in times when no one is buying new machines

Quote Originally Posted by RobbieKnobbie