Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Syncrowave 200 TIG

Smile Syncrowave 200 TIG

OK gents.... I just ordered a new Syncrowave 200. Any tips on using this particular machine, ie. any common quirks, or tendency's and things to avoid doing?

I know - it's not the greatest choice among the pro's, but I'm a newbie to TIG and had a limited budget. Also having given away my old Lincoln farm unit AC buzz box (HUGE), I find myself missing having the stick capability. The oxy/acetylene and MIG are great, but itching to get into some TIG now. Thanks.

I run a Syncrowave 300 all day long, good solid machine.

The only suggestion I have is with your torch replace the collet body with a gas lens and sharpen your tungsten in the direction of the length don't grind around the tungsten if that makes sense to you making the point 2-3 times as long as the diameter of the tungsten, and the finer the finish on the grind the better(mirror is optimum but not always possible by home shop means)

after that its all practice, practice, practice...

you will need to use 2% thoriated(RED) tungsten for DC and pure(GREEN) for AC. When you are using the pure tungsten dont sharpen the it will form a ball on the end by itself and if the tungsten seems like it is burning back into the torch you will need to turn your "Balance" down to get more heat into the work and not the torch...

hope this helped,
    Ed
    Last edited by EdC; 05-13-2010 at 07:41 PM.
    Experience is something you don't get until just after you need it. ..

I run 2% thoriated with a sharp point all the time on AC with aluminum using my sync250dx. After a while it'll crack and spawl, but generally I stab the filler into it before that happens (necessitating grinding).

Second thing after a gas lens is getting a water cooled torch. Especially running AC, the torch gets hot. I've melted the collet body into a 17 torch (I think that's what the 200 comes with right?) using 160A AC and 50% balance. It's simply not up to the task.