Thread: AR-10 Sights - too many to choose from!

Hybrid View

Default AR-10 Sights - too many to choose from!

So I purchased an Armalite AR-10 7.62 carbine last year but it didn't come with any sights. It has a dovetail rail of sorts on the reciever and a small one up front. I understand it's a standard rail that most sights are designed to clamp onto. So the question is where do I begin? I started asking at gunshops and they tell me there are a thousand different options and I need to figure out "whats best" for myself. I am totally new to this category of firearms so how the heck would I know! Incidentaly, I fired it for the first time today (used my forehand thumb sticking up as a crude sight ) and was able to pop detergent bottles at 200 yards after a few homing shots. I like the thought of one of those Eotech holographic sights but they are pricey. Fixed sights?

I have a very similar set up but on a 5.56 20" H-Bar.
    The reddot is a Bushnell Trophy.

I generally dont't like reddots on long arms because the center dot obscures the target at anything past pistol distances, but this one has tiny little dot, about 1MOA. The open center of the T is great idea. Its red/green selectable for shooting in daylight or low/no light.

As I don't trust electronic sights as an only option on a firearm I put a folding Yankee Hill front sight on the picatinny gas block.

The rear sight is a BUIS unit.

The iron sights co-witness the reddot so checking t be sure zero hasn't moved is a snap. And if the battery dies I can either look through the tube or remove it.
    Ignorance is curable through education.

On my 5.56 Ar I have reddot it is the bushnell with the 4 reticles. Quick to aquire, it is mounted on top of the carry handle on my A2 so the sites are always available.