Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Custom MkI Ruger with Octagon Barrel

Default Custom MkI Ruger with Octagon Barrel

This was a two year project for me. Mostly because I don't have time to work on my own guns. So I'd do what I could when I had the time. I guess that's the good thing about being a manufacturing engineer, I plan processes out to the nth degree for a living, so with this one I could pick it up anytime and know exactly what was next. I'm a bit a nit when it comes to processing parts.

The barrel started as a 19" x 1.25 O.D. Anschutz rifle blank. Which was nipped off to around 8 3/4". The goal was to finish up at 8 1/4".

Set up in a four jaw, faced and 60 degree centers bored in.

It was then turned between centers and threaded, leaving the breech end long for the feed ramp.

The above image was the one posted in Thread Wires In Captivity. And when JCH commented on my unique octagon to round (latter pics) I thought I'd share this project on the gunsmithing board.

A test fit. Torque up and mill in the flats at BDC so the barreled assembly will fit the frame. These flats at BDC set the radial timing for ALL cuts to come.
    Ignorance is curable through education.

Leaving the barrel round until all breech work was complete allowed me to easily hold the barrel in a V block with out compensating for the taper that's in the Octagon. The Feed ramp was roughed out as a square tit.

Then the extractor clearance groove was milled in. But before I could mill in the groove I had to make an arbor for the 1 1/2" x .0625" carbide saw.

after the "level" work was done, the feed ramp was bored with a 1/4" ball end mill at 40 degrees.
    Last edited by Rusty Marlin; 07-20-2010 at 10:26 PM.

I rented a .22 Semi Auto Match chamber reamer, Bentz style, and reamed the chamber with the barrel hung off the back side of the mill table.

I didn't have a free floating reamer holder at this time and knew I could do it this way and be dead nuts perfect.