Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Advice on dividing heads

Default Advice on dividing heads

Guys, perennial newbie here with another question. I'm going to be doing some work that looks like I'll be drilling or machining various parts of round stock. My layout skills are apparently lacking and I'm wondering if I shouldn't invest in a dividing head so that I can be much more precise in my placement on round stock. The smart money is on sharpening my pencil and getting better at layout, I got that. But it's a tool! And it's cool! I've never used one before. Is this a cool piece of kit to have but not necessary or is this something that you can't believe I don't already have?

If it's something I should have, any thoughts to ordering one of the Enco import models? I'm figuring this is something I'll use on my mill mostly and my work probably won't be overly large.
    Dan from Raleigh, NC

If it's stupid but it works, it's not stupid.

A rotary table with a dividing plate attachment is more versatile. Add a 3 or 4 jaw chuck to the table and you can do about any kind of rotary work.

See these threads: http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=42400

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/genera...ng_plates.html

RWO

What he said...(RWO)...+3
    Add to that the capability of vertical AND horizontal mounting in at least a 6" diameter.

I have a small indexer with a set of holed plates a small 3 jaw chuck, a eight inch with 3 jaws and a couple of indexing plates along with a 12" rotary table. I find the the small indexer is more versatile than the other two, however it is still small.
    "the ocean is the ultimate solution"

Quote Originally Posted by RWO
    A rotary table with a dividing plate attachment is more versatile. Add a 3 or 4 jaw chuck to the table and you can do about any kind of rotary work.

See these threads: http://bbs.homeshopmachinist.net/showthread.php?t=42400

http://www.cnczone.com/forums/genera...ng_plates.html

RWO