Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: I need a tool to build a tool to build a tool!

Default I need a tool to build a tool to build a tool!

I am sure you all have gone down this road!

I need a angle plate for my horizontal mill. 12"X 12" X minimum 1" thick plates.

What would be the best way to build this angle plate? Normally I would cut the plates, square them up on the mill and then weld them together with the braces on the back. Then I would heat it in an oven to 700 plus degrees and let it cool slowly. After that I would bolt it down on the mill and face the two sides.

I then thought maybe I would be better to bolt it together and not weld.

So how would you all build one?
    How to become a millionaire: Start out with 10 million and take up machining as a hobby!

I'd weld it because I'm a welder.

I would go to a steel supplier and buy a short piece of channel iron and square that up. It will be very close to start with so the work will be minimal.
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Origin now settable to bottom left! All values positive. Click Here

"After that I would bolt it down on the mill and face the two sides."

How would you position a 12" angle plate on the mill table to you could face the entire surface?

I would make it out of angle iron as I have done in the past. It's fast and easy. Of course, buying one is easier.
    It's only ink and paper

MuellerNick Guest

I'd weld it. Then I'd put it into my oven if it would fit. If that oven is too small, I wouldn't stress relief it.
    If I would need a precise angle plate, I'd buy a cheap one out of CI and scrape it to my standard (that is very low ).

Nick

Quote Originally Posted by Evan
    I would go to a steel supplier and buy a short piece of channel iron and square that up. It will be very close to start with so the work will be minimal.
    Channel iron?????

Brian
    OPEN EYES, OPEN EARS, OPEN MIND

THINK HARDER