Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Stuck 3 jaw chuck

Default Stuck 3 jaw chuck

I am a green beginner. Here is my problem: My Grizzly lathe has a chuck I cannot get off. I have removed the clamps holding it to the spindle. It seems the threads are stuck. I have tried WD=40, etc.

Could temperature be the problem? It is in a unheated but insulated workshop and the temp probably gets down to the 40's. I am thinking about using a hair drier to warm the chuck on the theory that it will then expand and release itself from the threads on the spindle.

Thanks

Chuck up a piece of round stock about 2-3 in and get on it with a long pipe wrench. Set the lathe for the lowest RPM to provide resistance when you pull that wrench. There are other ways but this quick and simple.

If you don't have a large pipe wrench use a large piece of hex stock and appropriate wrench..

After you get that chuck off do some cleaning on the threads. A few drops of break free on the threads will prevent this.

Moe,

One could interpret your post to say that the OP should start his lathe in slow speed with a pipe wrench attached to the chuck!!

If his is a belt drive lathe, I doubt selecting a slow speed would provide much resistance. I have had luck loosening a stuck chuck by engaging the back gears without disengaging the bull gear.

Tom

Quote Originally Posted by flathead4
    Moe,

One could interpret your post to say that the OP should start his lathe in slow speed with a pipe wrench attached to the chuck!!

If his is a belt drive lathe, I doubt selecting a slow speed would provide much resistance. I have had luck loosening a stuck chuck by engaging the back gears without disengaging the bull gear.

Tom

If they wanted a Darwin award..I guess I should have put in a disclaimer for the challenged.

Moe and Tom,
    Although I have tried out for the Darwin Award on other projects---I will not do it this time.