Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Over what angle does a screw thread go from zero height to the specified height?

Default Over what angle does a screw thread go from zero height to the specified height?

I am a design engineer for the Navy, please don't hold that against me, and I am currently working on a project for the Marines to defeat IEDs in Afghanistan. I need to know at what point an external thread engages with an internal thread in order for holes on one threaded part to line up with holes on the other threaded part. I figure that happens when the height of the internal and external threads are half the specified thread height. Does that make sense? Trouble is, I don't know where that occurs. The thread height is zero at some point and over some angle finally reaches the full height. I have never seen anything about this but I figure somebody knows something because a tap or die has that designed into it. Can anybody shed some light on this? Thanks.

Are you talking about "timing" of the two threads?

Ken

It seems you should be able to figure that out based on the pitch and lead of the screw thread. The pitch is the distance between a point on one thread and the same point on an adjacent thread. On imperial threads, you divide 1 by the threads per inch to get pitch, so 20 TPI would be 1/20 or .050". On metric threads, the second number in the thread designation is the pitch, for instance M6 x 1.0, the major diameter is 6mm and the pitch is 1mm.

The lead is the distance a thread travels in one rotation of the screw. On single start threads, pitch and lead will be the same. On double start threads, the lead will be twice the pitch, triple start will be three times pitch, etc. It should be just math after that. I hope this helps.
    Stuart de Haro

In short, no it does not make sense at all. What kind of engineer are you that you find a "height" in a thread?