Thread: QCTH for Logan 922 Question

Default QCTH for Logan 922 Question

I just bought a Logan model #922 lathe. I saw a tool holder set at www.cdcotools.com but I'm not sure if it will fit my lathe. The info says it fits both 10" and 12" logan lathes but my 11" model is not listed. Does anyone know if it would work on my lathe?

Should; those lathes listed are just pretty common lathes of that general size.

Its the center height of the tool bit which relates to the overall height of the holder that is important and there is some degree of adjustment (that's why it is listed for a 9" South Bend but also for a large lathe); most QCTP have what, about an 1 1/2" to 2" of "range"?.

Can't "guarantee" as I'm not that experienced but...

I'm too lazy to go measure, but I don't think they have quite that large of an adjustment range, especially the smaller ones.

I'd say a range more like 3/4" - 1".

I first got the mid range one, 'C' I think, or maybe it's designated the '300' series, for my 13" lathe. Had to take it back and exchange for the next smaller '200' series ...whichever one accepts 5/8" bits. I could not adjust the bigger one low enough, even sitting flat on the topslide.

Ok thanks,it's the AXA model I'm looking at. I think i'll order it.

i use a 200 or bxa on my 14" rockwell and a buddy uses the same on a 14" cadillac. nice fit and not crowded although we both put a 3/8" thick spacer between the post and compound. when we decided to go with the QCTP we borrowed a CXA or 300 from another friend and found we couldnt lower the toolholders enough to hit center.

I use axa 100 on my 10 inch logan

Whether a QCTP will fit a particular lathe has nothing to do with the swing.