Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: OT--Need Firefox help

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Colton, Washington, USA
    Posts
    655

    Default OT--Need Firefox help

    Something/someone hijacked my Firefox Web browser layout, yesterday. It 1) changed my home page; 2) installed Bing as my default search engine; and, 3) added a new "Startnow" Bing toolbar. I put things back the way I want them, but I don't want the "Startnow" toolbar and cannot find a way to get rid of it.

    Does anyone know how?

    I'm _ issed and suspect Microsoft is at the bottom of this mischief.

    Thank you.

    Orrin
    So many projects. So little time.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    North Carolina
    Posts
    614

    Default

    Have you tried a System Restore to a previous date?

    Steve

  3. #3

    Default

    go to add remove programs and see if it is listed, if it is I uninstall it.
    I use crap cleaner to clean out unwanted pgms with uninstall through CC or registry editor and rip them out. Just my 2 cents worth but works for me.
    Bill in SE Idaho
    With enough time & motivation anything can be fixed

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Apr 2001
    Location
    Maine
    Posts
    6,697

    Default

    Have you looked under [VIEW] --> Toolbars? I assume the Startnow toolbar will be listed, and you can just uncheck it.

    I think there is also a way to actually delete it, maybe under [Tools] --> Add-ons.

    You can change the default search engine by clicking on the faint little downarrow just to the right of the search engine's icon at the left of the search box. The Manage search engines... option will let you delete unwanted ones.

    The culprit may or may not be Microsoft. My copy of Firefox got corrupted in a similar way when I downloaded and installed a free utility from CNET, which I assumed was a reliable source.
    ----------
    Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
    Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
    Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
    There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
    Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    NC
    Posts
    101

    Default

    You can try about:config in the address bar, hit the (I'll be careful button) and use the search or look through the very long list for something that has start now toolbar (there may be more than one) and uncheck the boxes or change true to false. Hope that helps

    Jim Doherty

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Location
    Central Washington (state)
    Posts
    464

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by SGW
    Have you looked under [VIEW] --> Toolbars? I assume the Startnow toolbar will be listed, and you can just uncheck it.

    I think there is also a way to actually delete it, maybe under [Tools] --> Add-ons.

    You can change the default search engine by clicking on the faint little downarrow just to the right of the search engine's icon at the left of the search box. The Manage search engines... option will let you delete unwanted ones.

    The culprit may or may not be Microsoft. My copy of Firefox got corrupted in a similar way when I downloaded and installed a free utility from CNET, which I assumed was a reliable source.
    CNET is a very reliable source, but you have to look at every step of the download process and uncheck any little added extras that want to get added.

    Pops

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Location
    Kansas
    Posts
    483

    Default

    I'm _ issed and suspect Microsoft is at the bottom of this mischief.



    Uploaded with ImageShack.us

  8. #8

    Default

    Use Google Chrome and don't look back.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Mount Clemens, Mi
    Posts
    2,553

    Default

    yes your first though is correct it is the evil Billy gates and Micro suc trying to take over the world. as it and anything remotely connected to Mirco suc adds the Bing and other crap form them. Look under options I removed it from the firefox version before thew current one.
    Here is the link to the google pages I used the one from the mozilla help site and it worked
    Glen
    Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
    I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
    All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •