Thread: Bridgeport CNC series 2 retrofit?

Default Bridgeport CNC series 2 retrofit?

I want to get a CNC mill I was planning to buy a small CNC machine center similar to a Tormach but I am wondering what it would cost to retrofit a machine like this one?

http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/tls/2587726695.html

How much time is involved in converting one of these to a more modern control system? I have a little CNC experience and have a cad program to draw my parts. I have been running a Shopbot CNC router for about 4 years but I bought this machine new and did not build it. I know nothing about building a machine. I have read through here and I am trying to learn but it is a bit confusing. I am not sure what a breakout board is or what it does for example.

I do have an extra controller for a Shopbot router table when my machine was new I had a problem with my controller one of my X stepper motors was dropping out and giving the Y car slop so they replaced the whole box. I believe it has geko drives and it has 4 of them so the bad one probably would not be needed. If nothing else at least some of this equipment as well as the case should be good to use. I am not sure if the drivers would be good for servo motors or if any of this would be useful?

I don't have a huge amount of time to put into a machine like this that is why I was looking at new small footprint machines.

I am considering this machine as well as a Tormach. I want to machine aluminum parts for my small business and my Router table is a little light for production of aluminum parts cut from 1" 6061-t-6 I have been outsourcing that work and I would like to do it myself. I just ordered $2600 worth of parts I could build myself each part is 2.25" x 5" x 1" thick that is the cost for 200 parts I am not sure how much the aluminum is but I believe much of the cost is machining. The other down side is 4-6 weeks lead time for parts.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=b-y03hhCCME