Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help with a hinge project

Default Help with a hinge project

Hi All,
    I'm a newbie to machining and just started welding last year, self taught.
    I want to add an external tire carrier to a 1999 Ford E-250 (van). The off the shelf carriers bolt to the door and will cause it to sag. I want to attach the tire carrier directly to the door hinges. Here's a design I've come up with and I'm hoping for some feedback from someone who knows what they are doing. I sure don't. I'm faking it.

Here's a current picture of one of the two hinges.

My idea is to cut off the head of the current hinge pin and remove it. It's about .33" in diameter. Hard to get an exact measurement of it at the moment. I'd take a length of W-1 drill rod and mill it to the same diameter as the old hinge pin. Take 3/4" diameter 12L14 steel alloy and drill out the center to fit the new drill rod hinge pin. Then cut off two 3/4" long pieces of the steel rod and fit on each end of the original hinge. Cut the new pin to fit this longer hinge. Then weld the the new hinge pieces to a 1/4" thick steel plate (Drawings not to scale)

I'd then use the two new hinge plates and weld square tube to each in a "V" shape. Where the two legs join bolt that to the door. Hang the tire from the square tube.

The spare tire and tire rack will weigh about 100lbs combined. I'm mainly worried about the strength of the metals for this application since I have absolutely no knowledge on the subject. The metals I've chosen to use are things I happen to have on hand. I have no problem buying something different if it's a better choice.

To make up for my "just OK" welding ability I might increase the length of the added steel rod on the top and bottom of the hinge to 1" from 3/4". Gives me more room for error. The new hinge plates would probably be triangular shaped.

I hope this all makes sense. If not please let me know.
    Thanks for your time.
    Dave