Thread: New to me mill & 4th axis???

Hybrid View

Default New to me mill & 4th axis???

I have located a used Trak DPM 3 CNC Mill with a Proto Trak AGE3 controller that I plan to buy if it passes inspection. I have looked at the machine but since I have no CNC mill experience I have hired a machinery repair tech to inspect said machine if it passes it will be coming to my shop.

I really like this machine and the functionality it has. It is full 3 axis with the head moving up and down on the column and also has a manual quill feed. The machine can be ran as a manual machine or full CNC. One function I really liked was the ease to set Z zero. Since the machine has a DRO mode it keeps track of Z position wether you move the quill or the column. Setting the Z height is a matter of touching the tool to the work with the quill lock the quill press z zero then release the quill back into the spindle and lock it there and it is zeroed. That seems much faster than any other method I have seen. This function will save me a lot of time it is not as good as a tool changer but it makes not setting up a bunch of tooling in holders with a fixture neccessary.

I would like to get a 4th axis for this machine but even used they are a bunch of $$. I had been looking at a Tormach mill before I decided to buy this one and remember them having some inexpensive 4th axis tables. My new machine is servo driven and has a controler for a 4th axis built in. The Tormach indexer is stepper driven (I think) I can get the Tormach 4th axis with a chuck and tail stock for about $1500 new. Here is the question would it be feasable to buy this 4th axis and change the motor to a servo driven motor so my controller would work? The used 4th axis stuff I have seen run about $3k without a chuck or tail stock that is why I was thinking of doing this. My parts are not supper high tollerance so I am hoping this would work for me.

Here is a link to the Tormach 4th axis.