Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: decent quality drill chucks

Default decent quality drill chucks

i've got two drill chucks that are both budget import quality - one on an r8 spindle for the mill and one on an mt2 for the lathe tailstock. i have no issues with concentricity on either one (i'm a hobbyist hack, and i haven't got the need for high precision - or high cost - at the current time). my problem is that i've tried chucking up new, good cutting taps in both and i've not been able to tap under power - the tap spins freely in the drill chuck almost instantly. the taps will cut fast and easy by hand, and make good spiraling chips, so i'm not having any issue with them.

i'm wondering if a better quality chuck will be likely to have a better grip on things like taps and drills. i haven't had a huge issue with drill bits slipping in the chuck, though it does happen on occasion. i've looked on ebay and jacobs 14n ball bearing super chucks seem to go for $50-$60 in an auction. is something like this the way to go? i've also noticed that enco sells rohm german made chucks new for $35 or so. does anyone have anything to say about the quality of them? also, if anyone has experience with any others that are of a similar price, i'd be happy to know. as i said, i'm at the hobbyist level, and if it costs much more than a used 14n then it's probably not worth it for me at the current time.

I bought a Rohm (ball bearing version) and have never had a drill bit slip. My old chuck would slip every once in a while no matter how hard I tightened it. I love the Rohm.