Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Building The Magnetic Clock

Default Building The Magnetic Clock

First, a small introduction. My name is George and I am located near Albion MI. I have been lurking around here for over a year. I retired from Albion College about 5 years ago. Spent three years building a small airplane. After it was finished I started looking for something else to become involved in. My background is electronics, so building a metal airplane was a completely new and enjoyable experience.
    I really enjoyed learning to work with metal so decided to explore the world of CNC parts cutting. I spent several months researching and finally decided to build a small CNC/Router. I started with a basic framework from K2CNC. I purchased the steppers and electronics from Hobby CNC. For software I use AutoCAD, CamBam, and Mach3. Started my first CNC cutting about 3 1/2 years ago, and it has been an enjoyable journey with a steep learning curve since the beginning.
    I have designed and built a lot of small parts for experimental airplanes. I enjoy doing anything that is a challenge, leading to something new to learn about working with metal.
    I also have a small 7 X 10 metal lathe, and have learned enough about turning metal to successfully build several small air powered single cylinder engines. I don't profess to be any kind of a machinist, but am truly a hobby level builder, learning as I go along.
    Here is a link to some mods that I made to my lathe.
    http://www.mrrace.com/Mini_Lathe_DROs/

I am totally impressed with Weston's Magnetic Clock and have started to make some of the parts. I will be posting some of my first pictures of that build here, later today.
    Any and all comments and suggestions are welcomed,
    George
    Last edited by George_Race; 05-02-2012 at 10:51 AM.
    My Web Site
    www.mrrace.com
    Builder & Test Pilot N73EX

Geo, Looking forward to seeing the pics of your'e project.

Default The Build Begins