Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Resplined axles

Question Resplined axles

I have been approached by several people who what their axles resplined i.e.street rods.I have been sending them to Mossier but they keep bugging me to do it.In all the time I have been a machinist I have never cut an automotive spline other than the hard way using multiple angle settings (slow and sloppy)does anybody have a better way?(other than a jillion dollar spline rolling machine)I was also wondering if the front half of an involute gear cutter could be used to mill the tooth profile.

[This message has been edited by wierdscience (edited 02-20-2003).]
    I just need one more tool,just one!

I got a rotary table, indexer with a 1 1/4 through hole to cut streetrod axles. Ohh yeah cutting the splines... have a good table without a lot of slop or you will have wavy splines. I heard that a horizontal mill works better with a fly cutter, but I used a end mill on my last one. I made a full 360 degree circle before I cut the stub off to confirm my degree per spline. Lowering the mill in each slot to check. I try to case harden them but.. I ruined the first couple by heating them up too much before the oil quenching. That is a whole other art to learn.
    On the housing...
    Lathe Cut the line up bearing cups to fit a steel shaft of your choice, I got 1 inch stainless. Cut internal cups to mount in ring gear bearing mounts. Push the rod all way through cut axle housing, tap in cups into bearing mounts in end, cut outer housing to fit new axles.
    They don't bring squat on ebay, by the way. Locally they are worth a ten-00-bill. I get 9 inch fords car or truck for 100 here. last one was a disc brake one.
    Want pictures? I got some somewhere in this machine or the shops puter...