Thread: Grinding a thread cutting tool.

Default Grinding a thread cutting tool.

I have some questions about grinding a hhs thread cutting tool. First, I have very little knowledge about grinding tools. When I was a machine shop student at the vo-tech many years ago we had to make a nut and bolt and cut the threads for the bolt. We had to grind the blank for the 60 degree angle but we were taught to only grind the blank on one side, not both. If I remember correctly it was said you were only having to deal with grinding and keeping straight one edge not 2. We also did not grind any off of the top of the blank(rake?). We were using these in a lantern tool post.

Over the years I have not seen a thread tool ground like this. They always seem to have both sides ground with the point in the middle and the top ground. Is the way I was taught a long time ago an acceptable way of doing it?

Oxford;

We had a debate on this a couple of months ago. Some think the rake angle on top has an effect on the 30 degree angle on the right side of the tool. I still grind the rake angle on the top of the thread.

I grind the 60 degree thread form on both sides of the tool and both have clearance angle. The form I grind is on center.
    I use a special fixture actually.

Jim
    So much to learn, so little time

I would say that any way You want to grind a tool that has the proper angle when You are done is o.k. I've even used round pieces of tool steel to make thread cutting inserts in home made boring bar shanks.

Steve

Here is a good way to grind a threading tool. For right hand threads you need to back off the left side of the 60 deg angle.

http://i305.photobucket.com/albums/n...wt/Toolbit.jpg

The good part is, this way of grinding let's yo cut close to a shoulder and keeps the tool holder away from the chuck.
    Last edited by Juergenwt; 03-03-2013 at 11:48 PM.