Thread: Drive gears for an 18" slip roll.

Default Drive gears for an 18" slip roll.

Gentlemen,

Please forgive my ignorance on this subject. I need help determining the correct size gears for this roller. Hopefully this can be done without having to turn the shafts down anymore. This is my first time using actual gears to transmit power on something I have built (normally use chain or belts).

Rolls are 1.75" Diameter.
    Drive ends are turned down to 1" Diameter with .25" key ways.
    Fully closed the shaft spacing is 1.75" center to center.
    Max. material thickness will be .125"

S6304788 (Medium) by robg531, on Flickr

S6304789 (Medium) by robg531, on Flickr
    YES, I'M GRUMPY ALL THE TIME!
    DEAL WITH IT!

The formula for Center Distance is CD = (N1+N2) / (2 x Diametral Pitch) Using 16 DP to start you get:

So in your case 1.75 = (N1+N2) / (2x 16) = 56 = (N1+N2). Divide 56 by 2 and you wind up with two 28 tooth gears. Of course you can substitute other diametral pitches and rework the formula to use different tooth counts.

Hope this helps.
    Errol Groff

New England Model Engineering Society
    http://neme-s.org/

YouTube channel: http://www.youtube.com/user/GroffErrol?feature=mhee

I can tell you for sure that I would not make that with two gears. Two gears are fine for sheet metal but if you want to roll e.g. 1/4x1" strap with two gears it won't work because the gears just won't mesh. Big rolls use 3 gears and a banjo arm setup so the gears are always in perfect mesh. I hate the two-gear setup on rollers because just when you open them up to near-max capacity to roll something, the gears start not working right.

I'd love a heavily built 18" roller that can open properly to at least admit 3/16" stock. I know the rolls will flex. I can deal with that. As long as I don't exceed their elastic limit it won't hurt the roll.

metalmagpie

This thread might give you some ideas.

Regards.

Steve.

Quote Originally Posted by Errol Groff View Post