Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Last US lead smelter shut down by the EPA

Default Last US lead smelter shut down by the EPA

Last US lead smelter shut down by the EPA
    Well all the lead will have to come from China now!
    Glen
    Been there, probably broke it, doing that!
    I am not a lawyer, and never played one on TV!
    All the usual and standard disclaimers apply. Do not try this at home, use only as directed, No warranties express or implied, for the intended use or the suggested uses, Wear safety glasses, closed course, professionals only

Great. Battery prices will go up, ammo prices will go up, electrical and plumbing solder will rise and the production of evrything made with lead will shift out of country. Our real unemployment rate will go even higher. And if we consume the same amount of everything the total pollution will not decrease.

I'm glad I'm the age I am, but it is a real shame for our children...

paul
    Corollary to Murphy's Law: Paul's Law
    'You can't fall off the floor.'

Remember, just because you can doesn't mean you should...

Nothing stopping you from recycling lead at home-shop level.

Lightbulb

There are non-lead alternatives that may (or may not) be superior and comparable in cost:
    http://huntingwithnonlead.org/bullet_types.html
    http://www.shootingtimes.com/2011/03..._bores_033111/
    http://www.rifleshootermag.com/2011/...-lead-bullets/

Perhaps eventually we will have plastic or ceramic ammunition (to match the 3-D printed weapons).

And there may be other types of weapons that won't need a projectile and yet be even more effective.
    Last edited by PStechPaul; 12-02-2013 at 03:53 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by PTSideshow View Post
    Last US lead smelter shut down by the EPA
    Well all the lead will have to come from China now!
    Aluminium may not be too far behind. In 2000 China had 20% of the world's aluminium smelting capacity. Today they are at 45%.