Page 1 of 8 123 ... LastLast

Thread: WAY OT: Blockchain

Default WAY OT: Blockchain

We all will have been ambushed with news stories of Blockchain with assertions that this new technology is going to change our lives.

I am a practical person with some self taught computer programming skills. I have been telling myself for a time that I ought to be able to follow this "stuff" ... but the reality is it was not adding up for me from a practical computer modelling perspective. Soooo I went looking for more than the simple explanation.

Found this link and do recommend it to those interested. The words are well thought out and aimed at communicating.
    https://dspace.lboro.ac.uk/dspace-js....11%20v2.1.pdf

If you want to start with a more simple explanation then try this:
    http://www.afr.com/technology/web/ec...0170627-gx00oq
    Last edited by Norman Bain; 10-11-2017 at 06:14 PM.

I've been mining bitcoins for years now. I'm hoping to join the 3 comma club in bitcoin value in the next 5-10 years
    When in doubt, doubt your doubt.
    www.metalillness.com

Quote Originally Posted by 3 Phase Lightbulb View Post
    I've been mining bitcoins for years now. I'm hoping to join the 3 comma club in bitcoin value in the next 5-10 years
    "Mining" for the uninitiated is the process of running a computer on a Blockchain network that validates a particular transaction. A single transaction needs to be validated by a (at least) a given number of Miners before it becomes a valid transaction.

It is inevitable that Bitcoin will come into this coversation; though I am keen to explore beyond that narrow implementation and more into the actual mechanism of how it works, who owns/governs it, how the code gets out there, and (one of my unknowns) when do transactions "age out" to avoid never ending growth of the databases etc etc.