Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Micro drilling burr free

Default Micro drilling burr free

This is my first time posting so please bear with me. I am working on a project that requires me to drill a through hole in 304 stainless steel. The hole is .011" and is .010" thick. My problem is that when I punch through there are one or two burrs left on the hole exit. I've been told to use a backer but both sides of the hole are located in a recess. I am using a Bridgeport vertical mill running at 4200 rpms and a sensitive drill feed chuck to do the drilling. I fill the recess with a synthetic/water mix coolant. If any one has an idea I would appreciate it. By the way I have a reamer for that size but I am having troubles with carbides. My sensitive feed 1/8" drill chuck has too much runout (.005") for the carbide snapping them instantly when you touch the material. My 1/16" drill chuck runs much truer but so far the only carbides I can find have an 1/8" shank. The drill bits that I am using are cobalt. Goes through the stainless like butter.

That's what drill bits do when you don't have a backer--They leave burrs. The last thin layer of material gets pushed out in front of the bit. It happens with big bits and little bits. Have you looked into EDM?

I don't know how you would grind them but a flat faced bit might help.

Quote Originally Posted by taquero View Post
    I am working on a project that requires me to drill a through hole in 304 stainless steel. The hole is .011" and is .010" thick.

My problem is that when I punch through there are one or two burrs left on the hole exit. I've been told to use a backer, but both sides of the hole are located in a recess.

I am using a Bridgeport vertical mill running at 4200 rpms and a sensitive drill feed chuck to do the drilling. I fill the recess with a synthetic/water mix coolant. If any one has an idea I would appreciate it.
    Manual table feed ? DRO ? Would deburring as a second operation be feasible ?