Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 24

Thread: Strange lathe question.

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Kelowna BC
    Posts
    694

    Default Strange lathe question.

    My lathe is in storage with no power, needs 3ph.
    Might be able to get 110 v single.
    Because my lathe has a very nice gearbox it is very nice for threading, many threads without changing gears, Std and Metric.

    My buddies main lathe cuts only std. He picked up a 14 inch swing metric lathe, I think it cuts a lot of threads, but quite often you are changing gears.

    The tought entered my mind, that if I could power my lathe, with 1 or 2hp, perhaps I could make parts on another lathe, but do the metric threading on mine.. it could be a big help.the la the is 7.5 hp.looks like Kingston or Mazak.

    Maybe not a good idea, but it's there, rather make use of it.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    27,052

    Default

    You CAN get uo to 1 HP, 1.5 HP if the 120V is strong, because several sources sell voltage doubling VFDs that output 230V 3ph from 120V. I think TECO, Hitachi, and Invertek all have them.
    1601

    Keep eye on ball.
    Hashim Khan

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Flint, Michigan
    Posts
    614

    Default

    If you can mount a motor that is compatible in mounting needs, certainly it would run strong enough for threading, and actually quite a lot more than that. Unless you use a VFD and 3 phase motor or a DC motor and controller, you would have only one RPM per belt position, but that may have been the case originally.

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Edmonton Alberta
    Posts
    908

    Default

    My 18x60 Mazak clone came with 10 hp 3 ph ,I changed over to 5hp 1 ph that I had on hand never a problem.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Kelowna BC
    Posts
    694

    Default

    I was thinking to mount it to outer end of spindle to left of tailstock.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Edmonton Alberta
    Posts
    908

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by 754 View Post
    I was thinking to mount it to outer end of spindle to left of tailstock.
    If similar to mine you could remove cover where existing motor is and belt drive straight up to driven pulley.There should be room to mount a smaller temporary motor with separate switch.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Dec 2017
    Location
    Bemidji, MN
    Posts
    29

    Default

    A one HP motor would limit the diameter and/or the depth of cut but many lathes are/were powered with much less than that.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2001
    Location
    Green Bay, WI
    Posts
    3,214

    Default

    Could be done, but I would not mess with the current drive system.
    Put the lathe in neutral to isolate the current drive.
    Then mount an expanding mandrel in the left side (outboard) of the spindle and have a pulley mounted on it.
    Mount your temporary motor out there and drive it with a V belt .
    Your lead screw drive comes off the spindle so it should be no problem there for threading.
    You may need a double reduction for speed, but don't know the size of your threads. ?

    Rich

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Location
    Kelowna BC
    Posts
    694

    Default

    Good point the reduction, i like to thread around 150 to 240 rpm.
    Two points, the lathe is easy to setup, easy to use and I am very used to it.
    I can remember cutting threads, say a 5/18 , in 8 minutes. That is mounting tools selecting gearbox settings, and multiple passes.

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Location
    SW Michigan
    Posts
    8,278

    Default

    What makes your lathe strange?
    You can lead people to knowledge but you can't make them think.
    "Lead, follow, or get out of the way."-Thomas Paine

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •