Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Chuck size for a 9' benchtop lathe

Default Chuck size for a 9' benchtop lathe

Hi, newbie here. I've been wanting to get into machining for a while now, as a hobby, and I finally purchased my first piece of equipment. It's a Wabeco D2400 german benchtop lathe (bought used for 950 USD equivalent):

It's 220mm swing with 500mm between centers, so around 9' x 20', comes with a 100mm/4' three jaw chuck. The first addition I want to make is definitely a 4 jaw independent chuck, and I think the best size would probably be 5' which I can get new for around a 130 bucks. I live in Romania, so old USSR gear is available for cheaper, but the sizes start at 160mm/6'-ish. I can get a 160mm 4 jaw independent for 50 bucks or so. Do you think this little lathe could handle a chuck that size or should I just bite the bullet on a new, more appropriately sized chuck?

Also, I want to just pour a big slab of concrete and bolt the lathe down to it to improve stability, do you think it noticeably helps? If you have any quick and easy improvement/first step ideas, or tips about this particular lathe, I'm all ears.

I have poured concrete machine bench that supports my lathe, drill press, cold saw and small shaper. I find concrete very satisfactory.

I use 6" chucks (four jaw scroll, an independent four jaw and a three jaw set true style) and my 9" South Bend handles them just fine.

As far as your concrete slab goes...no one has ever said "My lathe is mounted too rigidly."

160mm/6" should be fine. With the 220mm/9" swing it gives you enough room for the jaws to stick out from the outside of the chuck on larger work pieces by up to 35mm/1.25" and still clear the bed. And that's about the maximum you would want them to stick out anyway. More than that and you should turn the jaws around and use the outside holding feature.