Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Need on/off selector switch for mill accessory power

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    189

    Default Need on/off selector switch for mill accessory power

    I need to create and electrical panel for my milling machine. This will mount on the machine on the back or side and will supply power to dro, powerfeeds, light. I want to have a switch and was thinking that having a simple on and off selector switch mounted near the millís fwd/off/rev switch would make sense. Iíd like the box to be small.

    Holy crap is finding a simple switch not at all simple. You have pushbutton, rocker, cam, selector.

    Has anyone sourced a simple 120v selector switch with an enclosure?
    I found this switch and an enclosure

    https://www.zoro.com/schneider-elect...d2/i/G2849357/

    https://www.zoro.com/schneider-elect...h7/i/G1328826/

    I am assuming for now that this is good for 120v and not a low volt switch. I will call Zoro on Monday.

    This cam switch looks like it would work but canít an enclosure for it.

    https://www.zoro.com/advance-control...0g/i/G2803561/

    Another option is to drill a 22mm hole in the metal enclosure that will house the 120v outlets and just bend over or around the machine to turn on all the 120v goodies.

    Any help is greatly appreciated. Thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Posts
    120

    Default

    Why not a trip to the local hardware store/HD electrical department for an electrical box and a switch? For a nicer looking box I'd go with an exterior aluminum one.
    https://www.lowes.com/pd/Sigma-Elect...al-Box/1098639

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    NONE U BIDNESS
    Posts
    489

    Default

    I just use a 6 outlet power strip w/switch.
    It may be too large for your application, but it works good for me.

    THANX RICH
    People say I'm getting crankier as I get older. That's not it. I just find I enjoy annoying people a lot more now. Especially younger people!!!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    In the desert
    Posts
    962

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JCByrd24 View Post
    Why not a trip to the local hardware store/HD electrical department for an electrical box and a switch? For a nicer looking box I'd go with an exterior aluminum one.
    https://www.lowes.com/pd/Sigma-Elect...al-Box/1098639
    Perfectly acceptable solution and often used. I have a little saw table setup like that. I never use it, but I have it. LOL.
    *** I always wanted a welding stinger that looked like the north end of a south bound chicken. Often my welds look like somebody pointed the wrong end of a chicken at the joint and squeezed until something came out. Might as well look the part.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2006
    Posts
    598

    Default

    I made a power center for my mill a couple of years ago. The box was folded up from sheet aluminum. It mounts where the original smaller switch box went. The main switch was the one that came with the mill. I think I have less that $30 or so in the whole thing, mainly for the four smaller switches.

    Ed



    For just a little more, you can do it yourself!

  6. #6
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    SE Texas
    Posts
    11,793

    Default

    I would use a standard, small electrical box from the local hardware store. Probably one of the ones with the rounded corners. Any number of switches will fit in it and there are cover plates available. Do not get the cheapest, contractor grade, switches as they are not good for higher currents. Get a $5 or $10 one.

    If you do not like using a standard switch, you can still use the box and a cover plate. Get a plain cover plate and drill or mill your own mounting hole in it. Buy the switch first so you can be sure that it will fit. Almost any manner of switch can be purchased from electrical and electronic suppliers. You can even find liquid tight ones.
    Paul A.

    Make it fit.
    You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    WI/IL border
    Posts
    2,103

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by v860rich View Post
    I just use a 6 outlet power strip w/switch.
    It may be too large for your application, but it works good for me.

    THANX RICH
    That's what I use too. It's mounted on top of the DRO arm. My DRO, power feeds, lights and other accessories are simply plugged in. I can either turn all of them on/off at the same time by flipping the main power strip switch or (as I usually do)- individually by the devices' own switches.
    Last edited by MichaelP; 04-16-2018 at 02:35 AM.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sunny So Cal
    Posts
    4,505

    Default

    i always thought extra stuff on the mill used single phase 120?

    A light switch. Well, not the run of the mill switch. I think I paid 2.50 for it/

    All my 110-120 goes there. Not much current. It is CNC though. Yep, light switch. Been running that way from 2003. JR



    My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group

    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...port_mill/info

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jan 2003
    Location
    Deep in the Heart of Texas!
    Posts
    7,625

    Default

    I have an old 3-blade service box on the back of the mill fed with 240v from the breaker panel. From that, I have two standard 120v outlet boxes. One always live for a light and Z-feed and the other switched with the service box (DRO and Tach). The service box then feeds the two VFDs with 240v for the mill (mill and X-feed). The back of the mill faces a walkway so all I do is walk up and raise the handle on the service box.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •