Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Making a dovetailed peep sight?

Default Making a dovetailed peep sight?

Howdy fellas.

I'm about to get a Husqvarna Model 46 rifle in the next week or two, and I'm wanting to put a peep sight on it to replace the fixed rear v knotch sight. To make a long story short, there are no commercial options for what I want without needing a gunsmith or a lot of cash, so my plan is to just make a simple peep sight to fit into the dovetail slot of the rear sight.

To give you an idea of my skill level, I have very little machining experience, but about a decade or more of woodworking experience, including a lot of fine detail work with files and a Dremel. I have a wood lathe, a band saw, drill press, grinder, belt sander, and more files than I know what to do with.

Here's what I'm thinking.

If I can get a nut close to the size I need, I can drill and later tap a hole in one side of it, make a wooden mandrel that it can be screwed onto and chucked in my lathe, and then I can shape it with files. Once that's done I can drill the hole out of the middle.

The base could be ground and filled to shape, drilled and tapped the same as the nut, and fitted to the gun. If I can get the center of the peep right where the bottom of the V knotch is, I shouldn't even have to touch the front sight (also dovetailed). A bolt could be cut to attach the two, and loctited in to keep everything solid.

After it's all said and done, a quick cold bluing should make it match the rifle, and I'll have something I made on my new rifle.

Worst case, I'm out a few bucks for material, and some time. I'm wanting to get into machining, and this seems like a decent project to try.

What do you guys think?

Sent from my XT1585 using Tapatalk
    Last edited by Maverick44; 06-10-2018 at 03:58 AM.

Putting a peep sight that far out on the barrel won't work very well. Peep sights need to be close to your eye to work as intended.

Quote Originally Posted by Bluechips View Post