Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Mill Vise Accuracy

Default Mill Vise Accuracy

Hello all,
    I have been a longtime lurker but never had much to contribute to the discussions. I have slowly been acquiring tools and machines with the intent of making live steam engines and other small shop projects. I need to purchase a milling vise (I have a full-size Bridgeport clone) and I am a little stumped on how accurate of a vise I should be looking for. Many of the cheap import vises say: "Accurate to 0.002" on parallelism and squareness." I asked a local machinist friend and he told me that was pretty bad, however I am just a hobbyist and I am not trying to make parts for NASA. I was told by my friend to buy something accurate to 0.0002 but the prices jump quite a bit to get something with those tolerances. Looking for any further advise and input on this subject.
    Thanks in advance,
    ~Frank k.

If you choose based on price in order to save money it will cost you more money and time in the long run than you can possibly imagine.
    If you benefit from the Dunning-Kruger Effect you may not even know it ;-)

For your purposes, you can probably get a "cheap" vise, tram it as best as you can relative to the spindle. Then install soft jaws and machine the jaws in place so they are true to your end mill.
    Work hard play hard

Quote Originally Posted by FKreider View Post
    "Accurate to 0.002" on parallelism and squareness." I asked a local machinist friend and he told me that was pretty bad, however I am just a hobbyist and I am not trying to make parts for NASA. I was told by my friend to buy something accurate to 0.0002 but the prices jump quite a bit.
    I know its sort of an expression, but I pushback on the NASA thing as the saying shouldn't be an excuse for sloppy work. Accuracy required is determined by tolerances which are driven by the part's function....not who the customer is.