Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Recommend a "standard" O/A welding setup

Default Recommend a "standard" O/A welding setup

I guess this is related to the recent thread "Welding: Getting a Start" but it has enough of a different twist that I didn't want to hijack that thread.

I am a complete noob when it comes to welding, although I have successfully soldered (both lead and silver) for years using propane and more recently successfully brazed a few mild steel parts using MAP. Due to the general poor state of the electrical service in and around my 90-year old house, and the multiple uses of a basic oxy-acetylene setup (heating, soldering, brazing, welding and cutting), I am looking at getting a small-ish O/A setup to accomplish the various things I want to do.

I am looking to weld steel, stainless and aluminum from 1/32" to 1/4", perhaps even occasionally to 3/8". I understand the advantages of soldering, brazing and welding, and would like the option of choosing the most appropriate joining method for each task. I'm not looking to do heavy structural parts, just joining bits and pieces in all sorts of small to mid-sized useful and perhaps artistic projects. I am well aware that I will need practice, practice and even more practice... and in fact am very much looking forward to that practice.

What I think I'm looking for is a small-ish torch setup, built around something like a Victor J-28, a Smith Airline or a Harris 19-6a. Such torches are termed "standard", smaller and more nimble than the "medium" duty handles that seem a lot more popular, yet still have available cutting attachments, good selections of welding and cutting tips, yet have the capacity to do what I want (at least the catalogs seem to suggest that they do) all while using less of the expensive gases than the usual O/A torches for small-medium projects.