Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Where do I start?

Default Where do I start?

I want to get into machining but really don't know where to start. I'm a retired Army vet with nothing but time on my hands. I have wanted to learn to do machining and welding for a long time but work, family, and money have always held me back. Now I am in a position that I can spend the time and have the money to learn but I'm really at a loss for where to start. I thought about simply being a lathe and a mill and a bunch of stock and having at it but I'm not sure if that's the best idea. One of the issues I have is the vast selection of machines on the market. I have looked at everything from the Sherline stuff all the way to PM Knee Mills and everything in between. I even considered going to my local trade school and taking their classes (something I think I am definitely going to do) but I wonder if I should buy some personal equipment first.

I'm sure I'm not the first guy out there that has run into this conundrum and I'm sure I won't be the last. So if there is anyone out there that has some tips, I'm all ears.

Thanks,

C4W

Default Perhaps decide on a project first.

Quote Originally Posted by Captain4W View Post