Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Engine Flywheel Resurfacing

Question Engine Flywheel Resurfacing

Someone asked if I could consider resurfacing a Jeep flywheel on my 10x22 import lathe. Ha, ha, ha,... I explained that it is well beyond both my skills and machine.

I suggested a properly equipped automotive machine shop or buy new parts. I then thought to myself, what would it take to complete a flywheel resurface job? Mill, lathe, other machine? How big a machine? How to mount the part? I've watched heads, and blocks being fly cut on specialty milling machines but not a flywheel resurface.

I sort of assumed a large swing lathe and to mount it to a flange , indicate it on the machined mounting hub, and go at it with a cutter until perfectly flat? Anyone have experience on this kind of machining? I'm just a curious newbie.

Technically flywheels should be ground,,, they can contain work hardened areas and grinding will not only leave everything level but provides a nice finish - I have however machined them on my Mill using a rotary table and a flycutter with carbide insert, leaves a nice pattern but a little course - first few take offs in the car and you can hear the course lines of the cut some - then they get mowed down real quick...

Not too hard on a lathe with a large swing or has a gap bed. A few youtube videos out there.

Hot spots on a flywheel are always a concern when machining. I have had a local machine shop Blanchard grind a few and they did great work and very reasonable. So even if I had the swing I would send them out for grinding as a first choice. Mike