Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: South Bend 9 owners, a question please?

Default South Bend 9 owners, a question please?

So I've been helping a buddy with building his shop/garage for a while now when he needed an extra hand. It's been a bit of fun and adventure but he's done to the point that we're moving in his tools and machines. So he's got an SB 9a with the undercabinet motor and drive. And while cleaning and assembling the parts I noticed that the compound was very loose. And then I noticed that there's no locking nuts on the gib screws. And in fact the screws are only flush to the side of the body. And the cross slide is the same way.

He's going to find the size and buy some longer allen set screws and nuts to replace all these short slotted screws. At least then the adjustments will stay set.

So what gives here? How does one keep them correctly snugged and adjusted? Or is this a pretty common "upgrade mod"?

It's my first time getting close to an SB9 since high school. I can see why they are so popular as a compact hobby size lathe. Good stocky head shaft size and decently sized gears and a well in proportion bed. In fact the carriage, cross slide and compound all seem a touch small and out of scale to the rest of the machine. Not by a whole lot, mind you. but if the carriage and upper setup had another 7 to 10 lbs of iron spread around to upsize all the parts it would be perfectly OK.

I have the same problem on my 9" SB. I've been too lazy to fix it but other than going the route your friend plans I've often thought something like Vibra-Tite would be worth trying.

Yes, mine has flush screws and no locking nuts either. I adjusted them and have not had any particular problems with them. But YMMV.
    Paul A.

Make it fit.
    You can't win and there is a penalty for trying!