Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Get me over the hump

Hybrid View

Default Get me over the hump

Hey all,

I am new to machining and could use some opinions.

I am trying to justify purchasing a lathe for my hobbies, mainly building classic cars. But, because of my ignorance with the use of a lathe, I canít picture what I would use it for other than making spacers, bungs, and parts for creating or fixing tools. Not sure how often I would actually use the lathe.

Looking at the Little Machine Shop 5100 HiTorque 7x16 Lathe and the Precision Matthews 1022v lathe. I have toyed with spending the extra $100 to get the PM 1030v but I donít know if I will need the extra length.

Anyway, could use some knowledge dropped on me to help me get over the hump on whether to make the purchase or not. Machining is fascinating to me and I know I would enjoy it but only if I actually do it / use it to support my main hobby in any shape or form.

Thanks in advance!

Take the swing capacity, divide that by 2. Pretend that's the size of your pecker. Is that enough?

Or ask your wife if she would be satisfied
    Work hard play hard

The 1022 is a better size than the 716, as for the extra 8 inches with the 1030, can you think of anything on a car which would need that length? How much space do you intend to reserve for machinery? If you enjoy using a lathe, then the itch to have a mill as well will become unbearable. For making your own goodies, both types of machine are really needed.

What you use it for will be dictated by the lathe that you buy. A 7x16 will turn a 7 inch disk (shallow brake drum???) without hitting the ways but will only let you pass a 2 or 3 inch rod (axle???) over the cross slide. The same limits apply to the 10x30, where the height of the cross slide will determine the maximum size that you can work on.