Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Working a hardened file.

Default Working a hardened file.

I recently got into knife making. And as a beginner, I want to avoid annealing or forging anything right now. So to start, it's common to cut out a shape from a file. Normally done with an angle grinder. I find this annoying to do for lack of a better term.

I would like to mill out a shape on my Bridgeport. I have never had to machine a file before, and I do not want to destroy an exspensive carbide endmill when I could easily ask if someone here has done this before.

So... anyone here machined a hardened file before? Or have any reason why this will not work?

No to machining...grinding for hard stuff.
    It's work, it ain't easy.. if it was everyone would make their own.

Smart money says buy the steel guage stock machine it while soft, then heat treat and finish it.

An old file would be much too brittle to use as a knife, and too hard to mill well, even with carbide tooling. If you cannot contemplate annealing first, you may as well give up now.

The file will eat the end mill. You will have to grind it to shape. You can use a bench grinder, angle grinder, belt grinder, or combination of these or other grinding equipment. Use a 6" or 8" diam. by 1/2" to 1" wide 8s or 9s Scotchbrite wheel for finishing. You can drill holes for the handle scale rivets or screws with a solid carbide spade drill. If you want to save yourself a lot of work, you can have the outline cut with a laser or water jet.

Tool steel can be bought in the annealed state for a very reasonable price. I prefer S7, but 01, A2, and D2 are readily available. A2 and D2 are air hardening and will be too hard to cut with anything but carbide if you get them hot while cutting. S7 and 01 are more forgiving. S7 machines nicely and holds a sharp edge a long time after heat treat. You can machine all these with HSS or carbide if you keep the heat out of them.
    Last edited by Toolguy; 02-12-2019 at 03:27 PM.