Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie needs help with mini-lathe

Default Newbie needs help with mini-lathe

I'm a newbie when it comes to machining and I need a little help.

I have a MicroMark MicroLux 7x16 mini-lathe. I've been trying to machining some brass (C360) on it and I'm getting what I would call "catches" or "grabs" when I'm turning. The work seems to catch and either leave a deeper than wanted gouge or the work jams and the motor stalls. I'm looking for why this is happening. It happens on face turning and length-wise with a slow feed rate.

I'm taking very light cuts (0.003" - 0.005") and the RPMs are low (not sure the exact amount). Everything seems tight on the lathe. All gibs are tight without play as far as I can tell. I'm using HSS bits that I'm sharpening myself on a high-speed grinder. I'm fairly certain that the bit is very close to the center line of the work.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!

Brass is just about the easiest material to machine, and it likes high RPM's.
    If your RPM is low, then you should definitely ramp up your RPM's to at least 1000.
    Turning .005 with a hss tool shouldn't even stall a 1/4 Horsepower motor, unless your RPM is too low.
    Also make sure the chuck is tight, to prevent the part from spinning (Gouging), and your motor isn't trying to die.

Okay, maybe my RPMs are too low. However, the brass piece is 1-1/4" in diameter. Is that still okay to spin at 1000 RPMs?

I'll check the chuck as well.

What shape have you ground on the tool?

Too much back or side rake can cause the tool to pull into the work when turning brass on a light lathe.

If you're not using a tool with a flat top, that is, zero back and side rake, you might want to try one.