Page 2 of 11 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 106

Thread: Computer Issue Boot Disc OT

  1. #11
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Big Prairie Mi.
    Posts
    2,348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeLee View Post
    I did,
    Came up with so many that I don't know where to start. That's why I thought I would start here.

    I did find a WIN 7 recovery disc from an older computer but I don't want to re-install, just repair to get up and running.

    Also found this ....... $20 for the diagnostic and repair disc.

    JL.................
    Most windows versions are available for download from the microsoft site. Just need a valid product key. Home and pro both use the same ISO, your product key is what determines what version is installed.

    Also, on any w7 disk you have a menu choice to install, upgrade or repair an installation, should appear on the first menu that shows up.

    https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...nload/windows7


    Edit: ensure you get the right 32 or 64 bit version.
    Edit 2: sometimes can download the ISO with a product key if you are in the insiders group.
    Edit 3: At least it's w7, with ten every update changes the version number, so even the original install disk will return a 'wrong version' error in many cases
    Last edited by kendall; 05-29-2019 at 12:03 PM.

  2. #12

    Default

    Try "Plop" boot disk, it's free. I used it quite often.

  3. #13
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6,283

    Default

    I can't get past the black screen no matter what I do. I put the Win 7 recovery disk in and it doesn't see it.

    JL....

  4. #14
    Join Date
    Jan 2013
    Location
    Michigan
    Posts
    1,806

    Default

    IMHO, one approach and solution: find a tutorial on how to backup this system using a linux recovery distribution image.

    The first step of that will be using a different computer to download a linux recovery distribution and burn it to a thumb drive. You boot that on your problem computer and then follow the instructions to image the computer to an external hard drive, like a cheap USB drive. That cheap USB drive will be very useful in future backups.

    In the future you may want to find a way to do your internet activities on a more secure OS, which could be linux. For XP security and reliability you can run XP in a virtual machine and not allow it to access the internet.

    If your current computer is old and slow consider finding a cheap used computer (spending money to upgrade old computers is rarely cost effective). If you hunt around you may find a $30 computer with monitor that is a huge upgrade - at an estate sale or auction.

  5. #15
    Join Date
    Jan 2004
    Location
    Missouri
    Posts
    31,366

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeLee View Post
    I can't get past the black screen no matter what I do. I put the Win 7 recovery disk in and it doesn't see it.

    JL....
    Again: do you know the boot sequence is OK?

    The BIOS setup should work if the computer itself is OK
    1601

    Keep eye on ball.
    Hashim Khan

  6. #16
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    San Diego, Ca *** Please let us know where you are from too.
    Posts
    1,776

    Default

    As others have said .. boot with a linux disc which will allow you to look at the files on the
    HD and see if they look healthy.
    John Titor, when are you.

  7. #17
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Big Prairie Mi.
    Posts
    2,348

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JoeLee View Post
    I can't get past the black screen no matter what I do. I put the Win 7 recovery disk in and it doesn't see it.

    JL....
    If you don't want to alter the bios boot order, you can restart then hold the f12 key, it will show show a boot order menu, select the cd drive and it should boot to the CDrom.

  8. #18
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    6,283

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by J Tiers View Post
    Again: do you know the boot sequence is OK?

    The BIOS setup should work if the computer itself is OK
    No, because I can't get past the screen I posted a picture of.

    Also tried all the F keys. Still can't get past the black screen.

    JL......

  9. #19
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Big Prairie Mi.
    Posts
    2,348

    Default

    You can't get past that screen even after a complete shut down?

  10. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    755

    Default

    The keys need to be pressed before you get to the screen you posted... If the screen shows up - you are too late.

    sam

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •