Page 9 of 10 FirstFirst ... 78910 LastLast
Results 81 to 90 of 95

Thread: How do you move a 10ee?

  1. #81
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sunny So Cal
    Posts
    4,899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Peter. View Post
    Ah, you have the later modular drive if it's a 5hp I suppose. Must be nice to use.
    Its like butta And, it will run on single phase. I did make sure to get a bunch of back up tubes for that industrial rectifier too. JR
    My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group

    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...port_mill/info

  2. #82
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sunny So Cal
    Posts
    4,899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RB211 View Post
    Ok chaps, time to get serious, I am now an owner of a 10EE, $1625.

    Sweet! Yer gonna love it with whatever drive system you decide on. The bulk of the machine is one of the main reasons its so darn fun to use. JR
    My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group

    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...port_mill/info

  3. #83
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    3,446

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by JRouche View Post
    Sweet! Yer gonna love it with whatever drive system you decide on. The bulk of the machine is one of the main reasons its so darn fun to use. JR
    It's nice to remove the machine as a variable as to why a part isn't to spec

    Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

  4. #84
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Location
    Kent, U.K.
    Posts
    2,528

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RB211 View Post
    It's nice to remove the machine as a variable as to why a part isn't to spec

    Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk

    Funny, that's my favourite saying - if it's wrong, it's not the machine's fault!
    Peter - novice home machinist, modern motorcycle enthusiast.

    Denford Viceroy 280 Synchro (11 x 24)
    Herbert 0V adapted to R8 by 'Sir John'.
    Monarch 10EE 1942

  5. #85
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Toronto
    Posts
    771

    Default

    Another way to drive the DC motor if the AC-DC Section is compromised: http://www.beel.ca/

    Geoff

  6. #86
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Location
    Sunny So Cal
    Posts
    4,899

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by RB211 View Post
    It's nice to remove the machine as a variable as to why a part isn't to spec

    Sent from my SM-G950U1 using Tapatalk
    Hahaa. Even with my most clapped out machine I am ALWAY the short coming. JR
    My old yahoo group. Bridgeport Mill Group

    https://groups.yahoo.com/neo/groups/...port_mill/info

  7. #87
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    3,446

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by ammcoman2 View Post
    Another way to drive the DC motor if the AC-DC Section is compromised: http://www.beel.ca/

    Geoff
    Thank you for the link

  8. #88
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Edmonton Alberta
    Posts
    1,494

    Default

    Teco builds VFD that don't have to be up sized to convert 1ph to 3ph 220-240 volt,the guy said a 5 hp VFD will run a 5 hp 1ph.With your 6 hp motor you would have to get 7-1/2 VFD,they jump from 5 to 7-1/2.The 7-1/2 hp was $1000 cdn and made in Italy.

  9. #89
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Beaverton, OR
    Posts
    8,535

    Default

    When I got mine I ran it off a 15hp RPC. That got old fast so I yanked out the motor-generator and replaced it with a 2kw brushless servo motor. Since then I have redone it with a 5kw brushless servo motor and I have so much power now I have never used backgear. I have a thread over on PM all about the conversion. Only issue I have ever had is I ripped the bellows coupling between the motor and gearbox in half, its really the wrong coupling for the job but it's what I have.

    The new 10ees out of the factory use either a 10 or 15hp motor with a VFD, its the only way to get the low end torque. Unfortunately you just cant throw a VFD on the machine as you need to power other stuff and you may get an unbalanced load.

    If you are lucky you will have the WIAD tube drive. These things run off of single phase and are pretty nice.

  10. #90
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Anderson SC
    Posts
    1,456

    Default

    Not familiar with the 10EE but what about just using a 5hp dc motor drive? They are often single phase input.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •