Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Problems with toolbit sharpening

Default Problems with toolbit sharpening

Hi all. Im a total newbie to home machining and love tinkering. Ive watched a heap of tutorial video on toolbit sharpening for.my new flycutter and not sure what im doing wrong. Half way across the face of the steel that i am cutting the toolbit seems to round of the cutting tip and rides up onto.the qorkpiece. Im suspecting thats its a hard spot in the steel. Im facing just normal mild steel. Ive tried different speeds and feeds but it still happens. Any ideas... thanks.

Picture would help
    The shortest distance between two points is a circle of infinite diameter.

Bluewater Model Engineering Society at https://sites.google.com/site/bluewatermes/

Are you sure the bit is HSS?

The surface feet per minute when using a flycutter can sneak up on you pretty fast and go way above what is kosher for HSS used even on mild steel. For example if your flycutter is set to a 3 inch diameter cut and we want to use 170 fpm as our cutting speed that's only 216 RPM. What RPM were you using?

Now if it's some manner of mystery metal that does not mean that there won't be a hard inclusion of some sort. But I'd start with the basics and work from there.

Now you also said you were making it about half way across the piece. How did the tool work up to that point? Did it just steadily get worse and worse much like a tool bit being eroded away by too extreme of conditions? Or did it do just fine up to the one point and suddenly pack it in?

I had a piece like you're saying that had some hard spots. I faced it with carbide. But the hard spots in it were very noticeable as the cutter gave a "bump" even over the sound of the regular softer steel around it. So that can also be a hint of a hard spot.
    Last edited by BCRider; 09-08-2019 at 07:22 PM.

You may be getting the HSS too hot when grinding.
    If the tip of the tool starts to discolor, you have ruined the temper.