Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Uses of magnesium question

Post Uses of magnesium question

I'm dumping a waterheater so I thought I'd pull out the anode. As far as I know the anode is made of magnesium. I suppose I'll know if the shavings burn giving off a bright light. I also know that the powder and fine shavings are used in flashbulbs and other devices like that.

What properties are of interest to a machinist? What is the metal good for other than its chemical properties?

Thanks,

Spence

Light, even lighter than Aluminum

John

Spence I don't know about water heaters, but I worked as a corrosion tech for a while in the oil patch, and we used mostly zinc anodes for liquid contact. The only time we used mag anodes was in earth contact. James

LOL... Funny now but not at the time. I set one of my wood benches on fire power sanding Aluminum/Magnesium alloy. I still have about 30lbs. of it. What the heck is it good for. Corrodes faster than aluminum.

Well as you might expect the rod was heavily pitted and corroded. Still it would make a 4x4" cube. Can I melt it and treat it just as I would aluminum? Is there a hazard of it igniting in the crucible?

As a retired chemist, I strongly suggest that you NOT try to melt it. If it does catch fire, magnesium burns so hot it will strip the necessary oxygen from carbon dioxide ( one form of "fire extinguisher") and under some circumstances even water!! Also it will be so bright that if you look at it, you will not be able to see what you are doing. remember those flash bulbs? Think of a continuous light that bright.

Bob

Magnesium is useful for igniting the Thermite made from the left over scrap aluminum and rust.

Don Clement
    Running Springs, California