Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• MasterCAM X8 with HF 1

Good Morning Guys,

It was recently suggested that I acquire MasterCAM X8 with HF 1 (whatever all that means). I know nothing about this program. It was touted to include solid modeling, 2D drawing and much more to include the ability to generate G-Code.

I have no idea what 2D drawing nor solid modeling is. I am basically a beginner currently using CAMBAM and Gearotics. Would anyone, having used this program, care to elaborate one way or another about this program?

Lastly, I have a 4th axis with my CNC mill. Will MasterCAM "allow" me the ability to draw and generate 4th axis work?

Thanks,

Harold
    For those having fought for it, Freedom has a flavor the protected will never know.
    Freedom is only one generation away from extinction.

Mastercam costs many thousands of dollars. It is one of the more popular CAD/CAM programs out there. I've been using it for a couple of decades and have made VERY good money with it. With the right "options" you can do 4 and 5 axis and solid modeling among other things.

You can absolutely use it with your router. The post engine (the thing that creates the gcode for your machine) is highly customizable (open source).

An easy way to understand the difference between 2d and 3d is this... take a shape you want to visualize and draw it out on a piece of paper in one view. Say a square.

Now if you wanted a 3d representation of that square, you would need to fold the paper into a physical square.

That's what you get with 3d modeling, the ability to realize concepts in 3 dimensions.

Hope this helps

Comment

Originally posted by Billy Hill View Post
      Mastercam costs many thousands of dollars. It is one of the more popular CAD/CAM programs out there. I've been using it for a couple of decades and have made VERY good money with it. With the right "options" you can do 4 and 5 axis and solid modeling among other things.