LinuxCNC or GibbsCam?

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• LinuxCNC or GibbsCam?

Total newbie to CNC, but I bought an Enco 9X42 mill several years ago. It was in the process of being converted to cnc, ball screws partially installed and wrong (still had backlash). I finally managed to get them installed correctly, then get the "break out board" functioning properly. CNCmasters wanted $100/hr for support, because I wasn't the original purchaser. I think it's why the first and second owners gave up.

I don't know how to write G-code, my understanding is GibbsCam will write the code, if I do the drawing. Or should I just bite the bullet and learn to write G-code? If so, which version? The last one I down loaded was in 2013 to check the steppers etc for backlash.

thanks,
    Ken

Linux CNC is a controller, GibbsCam is a CAM program, totally different animals.
    Does it have the CNCMasters controller on it ?

Sir John , Earl of Bligeport & Sudspumpwater. MBE [ Motor Bike Engineer ] Nottingham England.

Comment

Yes, it has the controller. I had to reconfigure it, but the gecko drives control the steppers, for the X, Y, and Z axis.

Comment

I use LinuxCNC to control the hardware, Fusion 360 to design the parts and to create the toolpaths in gCode. What kind of computer are you using the drive the hardware?

Comment

The old computer that was operating linuxCNC died. A friend had some parts, so I now have a pentium quad processor 2.6 ghz with 4 gig of DDR2 that I am going to upgrade to 8gig. (Recommended for GibbsCam) I ran a latency test and had #'s below 10,000, so should be good to go for linux. I didn't actually stress the system so I guess I need to do that. It's been 2 years since I've had time to play with this so I've forgotten a lot of what I learned, especially the problems I had with the break out board and the work around I did with it. But it works, when I was testing the X, Y, and Z axis's it would step the correct distances.