Milling adaptor

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Milling adaptor

I am a newbie and have a South Bend 10" lathe that I am trying to tool up. I need to do some light milling to make some tools. I am thinking of making a milling attachment that will fit on my quick change tool holder post. I can take a new boaring bar attachment holder and make a plate that goes into it. Or would I be better off making a custom solid attachment. Will this work? Or is the quick change tool post to flimsy?

Check out the Vintage Farm Plans is closing post. There is a link there that will get you to some plans to make lathe milling attachments.

Comment

This kit is available at http://www.statecollegecentral.com/m...the/MLA-5.html

They have a number of other kits also.

------------------
      Barry Milton
      Barry Milton

Comment

Check out the Metal Lathe Accessories link given above. Those kits are really good: quality castings, good directions, plenty of machining allowance.

That being said, realize that any milling attachment for a lathe is for LIGHT milling only. The rigidity, even with a good attachment, just isn't there for heavy work.
        ----------
        Try to make a living, not a killing. -- Utah Phillips
        Don't believe everything you know. -- Bumper sticker
        Everybody is ignorant, only on different subjects. -- Will Rogers
        There are lots of people who mistake their imagination for their memory. - Josh Billings
        Law of Logical Argument - Anything is possible if you don't know what you are talking about.
        Don't own anything you have to feed or paint. - Hood River Blackie

Comment

The MLA kit is as good as any. As SGW states, any milling attachment will lack in rigidity.

The most rigid will eliminate the compound and mount directly to the cross slide. Mounting to the QC toolpost or compound will add to the overhang and reduce rigidity.
          Jim H.

Comment