Anodizing rectifiers

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Anodizing rectifiers

I have been anodizing parts off and on for a few years now using a battery charger for a rectifier. I have a job that requires me to anodize some larger parts and larger quantities of parts. I don’t want to overload my battery charger and damage it so I would like to get a rectifier for this purpose. I also would like to be able to control the current better than I can with the battery charger. I know where I can purchase a new rectifier but was wondering if anyone knows of a source for plans or kits to build one capable of 20 amps.
    Thanks, Mark
    Mark Hockett

Here ya go. 120/12vac at 25 amps transformer, 1602 in stock, $19.95. Buy two and put them in parallel and you get 50 amps, cheep.

http://www.surpluscenter.com/item.asp?UID=2005041316474217&item=15-1103&catname=electr ic

Get some diodes out of a car alternator and build a full wave bridge on a heat sink. You can either use an autotransformer on the input or use 12dc headlight bulbs on the output to help regulate it. You can also make your own tappable wire wound resistor using some steel wire wound on a clay pot or similar.

[This message has been edited by Evan (edited 04-13-2005).]
    Free software for calculating bolt circles and similar: Click Here

Comment

I haven't been into this lately, but not long ago there were shottky diodes available that were high current and relatively cheap. They also have a low forward voltage drop, which means two things- one, they will waste less voltage from the transformer, and two, they will heat less than a normal rectifier when high currents are being drawn. They are typically for use in high frequency switching power supplies, but nothing says they can't be used at 60 hz.